Nominating Committee


Girish P. Joshi, MBBS, MD, FFARCSI is a Professor of Anesthesiology and Pain Management at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School in Dallas, Texas.  He is an attending staff member with the Parkland Health and Hospital System, Dallas, Texas.  Dr. Joshi received his medical degree (Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery, M.B.B.S.) and Doctor of Medicine (M.D.) in anesthesiology from B. J. Medical College at the University of Pune, India.  He received his fellowship in anesthesiology (F.F.A.R.C.S.I.) from the College of Anaesthetists, Royal College of Surgeons, Ireland, and then received a M.D. degree from the University College Dublin, Ireland.  He is a diplomate of the American Board of Anesthesiology.


Dr. Joshi has authored or co-authored numerous peer-reviewed journal articles and editorials.  He is a Senior Editor for Anesthesia & Analgesia.  He performs reviews for several prestigious journals.  Dr. Joshi has made numerous presentations as a visiting professor and invited speaker at several National and International conferences.


Dr. Joshi is an active member of many professional societies, including the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA), Texas Society of Anesthesiologists (TSA), International Anesthesia Research Society (IARS), Society For Ambulatory Anesthesia (SAMBA), Society of Anesthesia and Sleep Medicine (SASM), Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Healthcare Centers (AAAHC) and Acreditas Global. He is the Past President of SAMBA and SASM, and the President of TSA. He serves on the Board of Directors of TSA, SASM, and Acreditas Global. He is the chair of the SAMBA committee on guidelines development. He is also a member of the Procedure Specific Pain Management (PROSPECT) Group, which is an international collaboration of anesthesiologists and surgeons that formulates evidence-based procedure specific pain management recommendations. In addition, the Prospect group is the Think Tank contributing to European Society of Anesthesiologists vision on perioperative medicine.

Committee Members:

Frances Chung MBBS, FRCPC – University Health Network
David Hillman MBBS, FFARACS, FANZCA – Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital
Norman Bolden MD – MetroHealth Medical Center