Liaison Committee

IARS/ASA/ATS/AASM Liaison Committee Chair:

David Hillman, MBBS, FFARACS, FANZCA (Chair) is a sleep physician at the Department of Pulmonary Physiology and Sleep Medicine at Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital in Perth, Western Australia and a director of the West Australian Sleep Disorders Research Institute.

He is a respiratory physiologist, anaesthetist and sleep physician.  His clinical and research interests focus on the physiology of the respiratory system and upper airway and their relationship to respiratory disease, sleep disorders and anaesthesia.  He has published extensively in these and related areas.

He is a fellow of the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists, the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh and an honorary fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians.  He is a Clinical Professor at the University of Western Australia and a past president of the Australasian Sleep Association and of the Society of Anesthesia and Sleep Medicine.  He is founding chair of Australia’s Sleep Health Foundation, a national charity devoted to improving sleep health.


European SASM Chair:

Stavros Memtsoudis, MD, PhD (Chair) is an anesthesiologist and intensivist at the Hospital for Special Surgery in New York. His research interest lies in the evaluation  of perioperative outcomes utilizing population based data. He has published in the field of outcomes in perioperative sleep apnea patients and is currently conducting clinical studies to elucidate mechanisms that may lead to increased risk for complications in this patient population.

Asian SASM Chair:

Frances Chung, MBBS, FRCPC is Professor of Anesthesiology at University of Toronto and Medical Director, Ambulatory Surgical Unit, University Health Network. She was past president of Society for Ambulatory Anesthesia (SAMBA). Her research interest is in perioperative management of OSA and she has published extensively in this area. She developed the STOP-Bang questionnaire, a widely used OSA screening tool Her research was recognized by multiple awards including Research Recognition Award from Canadian Anesthesiologist’s Society, Distinguished Services Award from SAMBA. and Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada’s McLaughlin-Gallie Visiting Professorship for 2013.