SASM Board of Directors

SASM Officers


President (2017-2018)

Babak MokhlesiBabak Mokhlesi, MD is Professor of Medicine and the director of the Sleep Disorders Center and Sleep Medicine Fellowship program at the University Of Chicago Pritzker School Of Medicine. During the last few years his research has focused on obstructive sleep apnea, especially in patients with obesity hypoventilation syndrome and cardiometabolic consequences of REM-related OSA. He is also interested in perioperative outcomes of patients with sleep-disordered breathing as well as sleep in hospitalized patients. Dr. Mokhlesi’s research is funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH). In addition to authoring several book chapters and articles, Dr. Mokhlesi sits on the editorial board of Chest and the Journal of Clinical Sleep Medicine and is a reviewer for the journals Amer J Resp Crit Care Med, Sleep, and JAMA.



President-Elect (2017-2018)

Stavros Memtsoudis, MD, PhD is an anesthesiologist and intensivist at the Hospital for Special Surgery in New York. His research interest lies in the evaluation  of perioperative outcomes utilizing population based data. He has published in the field of outcomes in perioperative sleep apnea patients and is currently conducting clinical studies to elucidate mechanisms that may lead to increased risk for complications in this patient population.


Secretary (2017-2018)
Auckley DennisDennis Auckley, MD is an Associate Professor of Medicine at Case Western Reserve University and Medical Director of the Center for Sleep Medicine at MetroHealth Medical Center.  His research interests include postoperative management of patients with OSA and the evaluation and management of OSA in hospitalized patients.”


Treasurer (2017-2019)
Anthony Doufas, MD, PhD  is Professor of Anesthesiology, Pain and Perioperative Medicine at Stanford University. He specializes in Neurosurgical Anesthesia while his research interests include clinical anesthetic pharmacology and perioperative outcomes in patients suffering from sleep disorders with a special focus on sleep-disordered breathing. He has published more than 60 peer-reviewed papers. He is a Board member for the Society of Anesthesia and Sleep Medicine (SASM) and a member of the Association of University Anesthesiologists (AUA). Dr. Doufas is Associate Editor in Anesthesia & Analgesia for Anesthetic Pharmacology, and Respiration and Sleep Medicine. He is a member of the Outcomes Research Consortium.




Immediate Past President (2016-2017)

Girish JoshiGirish Joshi, MB, BS, MD, FFARCSI is Professor of Anesthesiology and Pain Management at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School in Dallas, Texas.  He is also the Director of Perioperative Medicine and Ambulatory Anesthesia at Parkland Health and Hospital Systems, Dallas, Texas. He is the Past President of SAMBA and serves on the Board of Directors of the Texas Society of Anesthesiologists and the Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Health Care. He is also a member of the Procedure Specific Pain Management (PROSPECT) Group, which is an international collaboration of anesthesiologists and surgeons that formulates evidence-based recommendations for postoperative pain management specific to different surgical procedures.



Board of Director At Large (2017-19)

David Hillman, MBBS, FANZCA, FRCP, FRACP is a sleep physician at the Department of Pulmonary Physiology and Sleep Medicine at Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital in Perth, Western Australia and a director of the West Australian Sleep Disorders Research Institute. He is a respiratory physiologist, anaesthetist and sleep physician.  His clinical and research interests focus on the physiology of the respiratory system and upper airway and their relationship to respiratory disease, sleep disorders and anaesthesia. He is a fellow of the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists, the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh and an honorary fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians.  He is a Clinical Professor at the University of Western Australia and a past president of the Australasian Sleep Association and of the Society of Anesthesia and Sleep Medicine.  He is founding chair of Australia’s Sleep Health Foundation, a national charity devoted to improving sleep health.

Board of Director At Large (2017-19)

Nancy Collop


Board of Director At Large (2017-19)

Christine Won, MD is an Associate Professor of Medicine in the section of pulmonary, critical care, and sleep medicine at Yale University School of Medicine, and the Medical director of the Yale Centers for Sleep Medicine.


Board of Director At Large (2016-18)

Satya Krishna Ramachandran, MD, MBBS is a leader in perioperative patient safety, and is presently Vice-Chair of Anesthesiology for Quality, Safety, Informatics and Innovation at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Harvard Medical School. His expertise is in prospective and retrospective safety process techniques, implementation science, large data epidemiological research, phenotyping disease states and time series analyses of continuous physiological data. He will offer a critical review of monitoring technology limitations and opportunities in the perioperative space.