Education Committee


Stavros Memtsoudis, MD, PhD (Chair) is an anesthesiologist and intensivist at the Hospital for Special Surgery in New York. His research interest lies in the evaluation  of perioperative outcomes utilizing population based data. He has published in the field of outcomes in perioperative sleep apnea patients and is currently conducting clinical studies to elucidate mechanisms that may lead to increased risk for complications in this patient population.


Babak Mokhlesi, MD, MSc (Co-Chair) is a Professor of Medicine and Director of the Sleep Disorders Center and the Sleep Medicine Fellowship training program at the University of Chicago. His research is focused on obstructive sleep apnea, with a specific focus on REM-related sleep-disordered breathing, perioperative complications in patients with sleep apnea, as well as best treatment strategies in patients with obesity hypoventilation syndrome. He has authored many book chapters and more than 100 articles. Dr. Mokhlesi is an associate editor for the journal Thorax and the Journal of Clinical Sleep Medicine. He also serves on the editorial board of Chest. His research is funded by the NIH/NHLBI.

Committee Members:

Girish P. Joshi, MBBS, MD, FFARCSI is a Professor of Anesthesiology and Pain Management at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School in Dallas, Texas.  He is an attending staff member with the Parkland Health and Hospital System, Dallas, Texas.  Dr. Joshi received his medical degree (Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery, M.B.B.S.) and Doctor of Medicine (M.D.) in anesthesiology from B. J. Medical College at the University of Pune, India.  He received his fellowship in anesthesiology (F.F.A.R.C.S.I.) from the College of Anaesthetists, Royal College of Surgeons, Ireland, and then received a M.D. degree from the University College Dublin, Ireland.  He is a diplomate of the American Board of Anesthesiology.


Dr. Joshi has authored or co-authored numerous peer-reviewed journal articles and editorials.  He is a Senior Editor for Anesthesia & Analgesia.  He performs reviews for several prestigious journals.  Dr. Joshi has made numerous presentations as a visiting professor and invited speaker at several National and International conferences.


Dr. Joshi is an active member of many professional societies, including the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA), Texas Society of Anesthesiologists (TSA), International Anesthesia Research Society (IARS), Society For Ambulatory Anesthesia (SAMBA), Society of Anesthesia and Sleep Medicine (SASM), Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Healthcare Centers (AAAHC) and Acreditas Global. He is the Past President of SAMBA and SASM, and the President of TSA. He serves on the Board of Directors of TSA, SASM, and Acreditas Global. He is the chair of the SAMBA committee on guidelines development. He is also a member of the Procedure Specific Pain Management (PROSPECT) Group, which is an international collaboration of anesthesiologists and surgeons that formulates evidence-based procedure specific pain management recommendations. In addition, the Prospect group is the Think Tank contributing to European Society of Anesthesiologists vision on perioperative medicine.