Bylaws Committee


David Hillman, MBBS, FFARACS, FANZCA is a sleep physician at the Department of Pulmonary Physiology and Sleep Medicine at Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital in Perth, Western Australia and a director of the West Australian Sleep Disorders Research Institute.

He is a respiratory physiologist, anaesthetist and sleep physician.  His clinical and research interests focus on the physiology of the respiratory system and upper airway and their relationship to respiratory disease, sleep disorders and anaesthesia.  He has published extensively in these and related areas.

He is a fellow of the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists, the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh and an honorary fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians.  He is a Clinical Professor at the University of Western Australia and a past president of the Australasian Sleep Association and of the Society of Anesthesia and Sleep Medicine.  He is founding chair of Australia’s Sleep Health Foundation, a national charity devoted to improving sleep health.

Committee Members:


Stavros Memtsoudis MD, PhD – Hospital for Special Surgery (NYPH/Cornell)

Dennis Auckley MD – MetroHealth Medical Center

Babak Mokhlesi MD, MSc – University of Chicago