2021 Annual Meeting

#SASM21 Virtual Annual Meeting
Sleep Health: The New Vital Sign
October 7-8, 2021

Offering 5.75 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™

Register Online Below!

Tentative Program

Thursday, October 7, 2021

2pm – 4:45pm CT
3pm – 5:45pm ET

1400-1415: Welcome Address & Announcements
Satya Krishna Ramachandran, MBBS, MD, Mandeep Singh, MD

1415-1530: Session One: Sleep Health Implications for the Perioperative Period
Dennis Auckley, MD

  • 1415-1435: The Neural Circuits Underlying General Anesthesia and Sleep – Olivia Moody, PhD
  • 1435-1455: Postoperative Complications in Obstructive Sleep Apnea: Importance of Phenotypes – Thomas Altree, MBBS, FRACP
  • 1455-1515: Sleep Loss in the Hospitalized Patient – David Hillman, MBBS, FANZCA
  • 1515-1530: Panel Discussion

1530-1600: Break with Sponsors

1600-1645: KEYNOTE: Sleep Health and Why we Should be Focusing on it in This Decade? – Kannan Ramar, MBBS, MD
Moderator: Bhargavi Gali, MD

1645: Meeting Day 1 Adjournment

Friday, October 8, 2021

9am – 2:45pm CT
10am – 3:45pm ET

0900: Announcements
Mandeep Singh, MD

Session Two: Sleep Health: Health Care Workers
Mandeep Singh, MD

  • 0900-0920: Effect of Inadequate Sleep on Clinician Performance – Haleh Saadat, MD, FAAP
  • 0920-0945: Optimal Sleep Health for Optimal Resilience – Mamta Gautam, MD, MBA
  • 0945-1005: Shift Work: Implications and Interventions for Sleep, Alertness and Performance – Tracey Sletten, BSc (Hons), PhD
  • 1005-1015: Panel Discussion

1015-1045: Break with Sponsors

1045-1130: KEYNOTE: Sleep and the Pandemic – Meir Kryger, MD, FRCPC
Moderator: Christine Won, MD, MSc

11:30-12:00 Virtual Luncheon with Sponsors

1200-1300: Annual General Meeting and Best Abstract Awards Session

  • 1200-1230: Annual General Meeting – Satya Krishna Ramachandran, MBBS, MD
  • 1230-1300: Best Abstract Awards Session – Toby Weingarten, MD & Eric Deflandre, MD, PhD, FCCP, FAHA

1300-1330: Break with Sponsors

1330-1445: Session Three: Guidelines Updates
Satya Krishna Ramachandran, MBBS, MD

  • 1330-1400: SASM-SAMBA-SOCCA Collaborative Guidelines on Postoperative Management of Patients with OSA – Mandeep Singh MD, Jaime Hyman MD & Ashish Khanna MD
  • 1400-1430: Obstetric Guidelines – Jennifer Dominguez, MD, MHS
  • 1430-1445: Questions and Answers 

1445: Meeting Day 2 Adjournment

2021 Annual Meeting Registration

    There is a $75 for CME credit for non-members. SASM Members receive free CME credit. For membership information, visit www.sasmhq.org/membership-information
  • Payment is only required if you plan to claim CME after the meeting.

CME Information

Accreditation Statement

In support of improving patient care, this activity has been planned and implemented by Amedco LLC and Society of Anesthesia and Sleep Medicine.  Amedco LLC is jointly accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME), the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), and the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), to provide continuing education for the healthcare team.

Physicians (ACCME) Credit Designation

Amedco LLC designates this live virtual activity for a maximum of 5.75 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.